Motorcycle legislation roundup from around the nation

Motorcycle legislation roundup from around the nation

Posted by Ben Baker on Feb 25th 2016


The Volunteer State’s legislature is considering a bill to let riders over 21 choose to wear a helmet or not. A member of the Tennessee House sponsored the bill. This is the second time around for the bill. It is getting expected criticism. "We know it's going to kill more people in our state," said Col. Tracy Trott of the Tennessee Highway Patrol. "It's not a question of if it's going to kill more people. It's just a question of how many more."


ABATE of Kansas is throwing its support behind a bill called Tina’s Law. The bill is named for the late Tina Marie Dixon. She and her fiance were riding in the Sunflower State when they were hit. Tina landed on her head and died in a hospital the next morning. Her intended, Billy Hegwald, lost a leg. Tina’s Law raises the penalties for right-of-way accidents that result in death from $87.50 to adding 16 hours of driver’s ed. If the driver who caused the wreck was DUI, the court can add up to 200 hours of community service on top of other penalties.


Motorcycle initiatives were vetoed by the Peach State’s governor last year. Georgia ABATE is lobbying for:

A red-light bill, allow bikers to go through a red light when safe if the weight of the biker & ride won’t trip the sensors in the pavement.

Allow ape hangers. Current law limits handlebar height from the seat.

Lane filtering

Helmet choice


The Grand Canyon State is looking at helmet law too. House Bill 2052 requires a helmet unless the rider pays a fee when registering his iron horse. The current Arizona law only requires helmets for those under 18. Cronkite news reports, “Under this legislation, an officer could not pull over a rider if they weren’t wearing a helmet; it would be a secondary offense. A rider who is cited would be fined $500, with $200 going to the Highway User Revenue Fund and $300 going to the Spinal and Head Injuries Trust Fund.”

HB 2248 seeks to change the current law for autocycle drivers. Under current law, rides like the Polaris Slingshot require a Class M to drive, even though it handles like a car. HB 2248, if it passes, will allow drivers of regular licenses to get into the driver’s seat of these rides.


The Show Me State is also getting behind rider's choice for helmets. “State Rep. Eric Burlison, R-Springfield, is shepherding legislation through the chamber that would exempt motorcycle riders in Missouri who are at least 21 years old and meet certain insurance and training requirements from wearing helmets,” says a report in the St. Louis Post-Dispatch.


The Aloha State is looking at requiring helmets for moped riders. Jokes aside, a moped is a two-wheeler and does have a motor. The proposal has plenty of support and plenty of opposition.


The state legislature in the Wolverine State is considering jacking the fine for not having a Class M license and driving a bike. The fine goes from $100 to $500 for the first offense. Get caught in the saddle without a Class M a second time and the fine goes to $1,000. This measure is being supported by Michigan ABATE.